This Saturday, March 18, an earthquake of magnitude 6.5 shook southern Ecuador and acquired its neighbor Peru, according to an official balance. According to President Guillermo Lasso, who leads the Emergency Operations Committee (COE), so far 13 people have died and more than 120 people have been injured.

The tremor originated around noon and had its epicenter in the Ecuadorian municipality of Balao, in the province of Guayas, some 140 kilometers from the port of Guayaquil. According to the authorities, it had a depth of 44 kilometers.

Most of the victims are from the province of El Oro, in the south of the country, and the rest from the province of Azuay.

(Also read: Earthquake in Ecuador: there are at least 12 dead after the earthquake of magnitude 6.5).

Around 5:30 p.m., the Ecuadorian presidency took stock of the effects of the tremor: there were 13 deaths, 50 houses affected, 17 educational units affected, 14 public goods affected, 31 health centers affected, a bridge affected, a good public destroyed, 14 private property affected, 126 injured, 7 houses destroyed and 19 people affected.

Authorities continue the operation to search for victims. The image is from Cuenca, Ecuador, one of the most affected.

Around 5:52 pm this Saturday, the General Secretariat of Communication of the Presidency of Ecuador reported on the suspension of electricity on Puná Island. According to the statement shared by social networks, a house was affected by the earthquake and is about to collapse, so the fire department must intervene.

(Keep reading: Earthquake in Ecuador: live panic during soccer program on TV, ‘My God’).

More news in EL TIEMPO

A dead girl and dozens of victims in Peru due to an earthquake in Ecuador

A wave of attacks in the northeast of Brazil puts 40 cities in check

Ecuador seizes about four tons of cocaine that were going to Africa